The Paleolithic diet is the easiest way to remove grains, dairy and refined sugars from one’s diet. Taking the theory one step further, the diet can easily convert to one that is totally gluten-free, one of the healthiest diets for people who are gluten intolerant.
The recipes in this book are designed for the dieter who is pursuing a gluten-free eating plan. The ingredients in the dishes are staples of most pantries, and the preparations are easy. Many of these recipes are flexible in terms of substitutions and the incorporation of certain taste preferences.
No matter which point you have reached in the Paleo Diet, you will find recipes in these pages that suit your needs. Have fun experimenting with them, try something different and stretch your imagination as you continue your new way of eating.
Wheat, oats, barley, beans, rye, rice and all other grains contain a protein called gluten. According to some studies, as much as 30% of the population has a toxic reaction to that protein which causes problems with digestion. The Paleo Diet, or Caveman Diet as it is sometimes called, has become the perfect answer to helping those people affected in this way by gluten and other grain contents. Becoming gluten-free is a very worthwhile method of reducing allergies, combating heart disease, improving blood sugar and shrinking waist lines.
The Paleo, gluten-free diet also eliminates dairy foods and sweeteners, but there are other ingredients that can be used as substitutes, such as coconut milk, coconut butter, olive oil and natural sweeteners. Flour is substituted with nut-flours, such as almond flour which is just as effective as a cooking ingredient as grain flours. Eggs and fruit are always allowed, both of which enhance dishes on the diet.
Here are some foods that are allowed on a gluten-free Paleo Diet, as well as some that are not. Use this list as a guide while you change your eating habits.
Acceptable foods: Fruits and vegetables (organic are best), animal proteins (organic and grass-fed), healthy fats such as nuts seeds, avocados, olive and coconut oil, spring water, green tea, coffee and coconut water. For sweeteners, use raw honey, coconut sugar, maple sugar or erythritol.
Unacceptable foods: All cereal grains, legumes (peanuts), kidney, pinto, navy beans and black-eyed peas, vegetable and hydrogenated oils, all refined sugar, all sugar substitutes (fake sugars), soft drinks and packaged juices, including fruit juices. All dairy products, excluding natural butter and cream and all processed meats should be avoided. Alcohol should not be included on the Paleo Diet.
Becoming gluten-free while using the Paleo Diet is not difficult as most of the unacceptable foods on the above list contain gluten in some form or they are sugar and dairy related. Finding recipes to support a gluten-free Paleo Diet is easy when you use this book - the choices cover something suitable for any meal of the day.
Pick up your copy today... Enjoy!